Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Need some help with your MUD client? Forgot your password? Get help here.
Forum rules
- Use common sense and be respectful towards each other at all times, even when disagreeing.
- Do not reveal sensitive game information. Guild secrets, player seconds are examples of things not allowed.
Makfly
Champion
Posts: 598
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 00:36

Re: Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Post by Makfly » 20 Apr 2011 16:06

I have the standard Home Premium version of Windows 7.

I actually don't get an error code as such, I start zMud, the computer seems to be working on something, then nothing happens. I can find the process in the process manager, but I can't access it.
If I try to start it again (& again) eventually I'll have a handful of zMud process running which leads my processor to go into 100% usage.

Oh and I am not saying I don't want to buy CMUD, I'd just rather use my age old zMUD that I am used to. :)
Mortimor Makfly - Gnomish Xeno-Anthropologist

User avatar
OgreToyBoy
Champion
Posts: 610
Joined: 05 Mar 2010 11:36

Re: Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Post by OgreToyBoy » 20 Apr 2011 16:14

Stop using the trojan riddled crack that is floating about for that version of zmud :p

Amberlee
Myth
Posts: 1394
Joined: 08 Mar 2010 19:50
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

Re: Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Post by Amberlee » 20 Apr 2011 18:45

Im using zmud and windows 7.
Had no problems whatsoever.
The views posted by me on this forum is not the views of the character Amberlee in-game.
If you ask for my opinion here, you will get MY opinion, not that of my character.

Seren
Beginner
Posts: 11
Joined: 16 Feb 2011 17:00

Re: Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Post by Seren » 21 Apr 2011 00:32

Right click on your zmud and choose properties.
Choose the compatibility tab.
Then "run this program as... " for instance windows 95, win xp SPx etc.
Also run as admin.

HOWEVER make a full backup of your zmud before doing so, one time it erased every single trigger of mine.

Should work.

Seren

Makfly
Champion
Posts: 598
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 00:36

Re: Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Post by Makfly » 21 Apr 2011 09:29

I got it to work now.

I presume it must have been some kind of data corruption, as I went to the old computer, copied things over to a USB drive, ran zMUD from that on the new computer and it worked.
After that I copied in to the new computer and things seem to work now.

Thanks for the helpful suggestions. ...Well, except Straags smartass comments ofcourse. :)
Mortimor Makfly - Gnomish Xeno-Anthropologist

User avatar
OgreToyBoy
Champion
Posts: 610
Joined: 05 Mar 2010 11:36

Re: Anyone running Zmud on windows 7?

Post by OgreToyBoy » 21 Apr 2011 16:02

Ask Wolverine, he did the same 'solution' as yours. Then it stopped working again.

Post Reply
http://tworzymyatmosfere.pl/przescieradla-jedwabne-z-gumka/