What does your character name say about him/her

Roleplay encouraged here! Tell us about the background of your characters.
Forum rules
- Use common sense and be respectful towards each other at all times, even when disagreeing.
- Do not reveal sensitive game information. Guild secrets, player seconds are examples of things not allowed.
Aristos
Veteran

What does your character name say about him/her

Post by Aristos » 18 Sep 2013 16:52

Coming from the reddit post fork on funny names, I thought it would be interesting to ask you all what the meaning/idea behind you choosing your name was.

I try to choose names which are somehow meaningful in a certain way.

"Aristos", for example, comes from "Areté" (ἀρετή) in ancient greek, meaning "excellence", "virtue", etc. Loosely translated as "The excellent one", or "the virtuous one", or simply "the best" :-)

Egomaniac? Naw, I just started playing Genesis after thoroughly reading the website, which provided some insight as to the different guilds, and sought out a name which could fit into a specific guilds theme which I wanted to be a part of.

I try to use either greek, or arabic names. Other names I've used in other games are, for example, based on latin meanings, like for example: "Magnanimus". This one also hints at a delirium of grandeur, but it was just fitting for a mage class roleplaying a crazy wizard who put power and control of magic over his well being.

So, anyway...
Where did you get your name from, and what did/does it mean to you?

Windemere
Expert

Re: What does your character name say about him/her

Post by Windemere » 18 Sep 2013 18:42

When I was younger we traveled in the summer time to Prince Edward Island. It is a small island in Canada that is just fabulous for seafood, beaches, golf, etc...