LAG

Discuss general game topics or anything else that doesn't fit in the other forums
Forum rules
- Use common sense and be respectful towards each other at all times, even when disagreeing.
- Do not reveal sensitive game information. Guild secrets, player seconds are examples of things not allowed.
User avatar
OgreToyBoy
Champion
Posts: 610
Joined: 05 Mar 2010 11:36

LAG

Post by OgreToyBoy » 14 Mar 2011 21:20

Whats up with the lag, been two days in a row now.

Johnny
Veteran
Posts: 224
Joined: 02 Apr 2010 09:33
Location: Washington State

Re: LAG

Post by Johnny » 14 Mar 2011 23:41

I haven't experienced a lag

Chanele
Titan
Posts: 510
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 12:39

Re: LAG

Post by Chanele » 15 Mar 2011 00:47

I have the same problem

Alexi
Veteran
Posts: 238
Joined: 17 May 2010 22:30
Location: USA

Re: LAG

Post by Alexi » 15 Mar 2011 02:51

Ditto on the lag. Sometimes I see a 2-3 minute freeze in information.

Targun
Adventurer
Posts: 81
Joined: 21 Oct 2010 01:31

Re: LAG

Post by Targun » 15 Mar 2011 03:10

Have you tried traceroute/tracert? Perhaps there's a server between you and Genesis that causes lag. It may be inconclusive, still if that's the case you'll know. Its' run->cmd->tracert <genesis adress> on windows. Usualy traceroute to <adress> - different parameters on Unix family OS's, Mac- just do the same with one of the online 'tracert's'.

Alexi
Veteran
Posts: 238
Joined: 17 May 2010 22:30
Location: USA

Re: LAG

Post by Alexi » 15 Mar 2011 17:33

Targun wrote:Have you tried traceroute/tracert? Perhaps there's a server between you and Genesis that causes lag. It may be inconclusive, still if that's the case you'll know. Its' run->cmd->tracert <genesis adress> on windows. Usualy traceroute to <adress> - different parameters on Unix family OS's, Mac- just do the same with one of the online 'tracert's'.
For us in the USA we'll naturally see a long hop/high latency for the cross-country link. Its probably some router in the line of jumps acting up, but unforntunately knowing is not half the battle. Still won't fix the high latency issue, and we can't really complain about it if its outside our ISP.

edit: What gets me, and makes me feel it might be closer to the Genesis Machine is that Chanele is experiencing the same issue, and I know he's over in Europe. So maybe someone could check the Error Logs on the Genesis Server to see if there is any issues (Or log into the Port the Server is hooked into, and see if there are any CRC errors and whatnot)

Targun
Adventurer
Posts: 81
Joined: 21 Oct 2010 01:31

Re: LAG

Post by Targun » 17 Mar 2011 04:51

Genesis seems to be hosted in London, so both US and at least part of european connections may be transfered through the same servers on the way. In case it's not Genesis fault, proxy or ssh tunnel on a shell acount may be used to bypass the lagging hop.

Not playing much lately, though I haven't suffered any lags when I popped in to see if my ping is high.

User avatar
Cherek
Site Admin
Posts: 2774
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 04:36

Re: LAG

Post by Cherek » 17 Mar 2011 14:56

Genesis is hosted in Isreal.

About lag I havent experience much lag at all, if any. For me the game has run as smoothly as when the server was in Sweden, atleast since the first few weeks after the server move when it was a big sluggish.

I do experience a sudden disconnect perhaps once a week or so in average which is a bit odd, but other than that I havent had any trouble.

Chanele
Titan
Posts: 510
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 12:39

Re: LAG

Post by Chanele » 05 Apr 2011 12:43

I have had trouble two days in a row now. Disconnect from zmud and I cant access the homepage, everything else works just fine. It last for a couple of minutes everytime. I will go rampage if something like this will cause my death.

User avatar
Alorrana
Myth
Posts: 1009
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 11:23
Location: Mordor. passing gass.

Re: LAG

Post by Alorrana » 05 Apr 2011 12:47

stop the porn downloads when you play.. Will improve on the lag :-P
I’m not a complete idiot. Some pieces are missing.

Post Reply
http://tworzymyatmosfere.pl/przescieradla-jedwabne-z-gumka/