Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

A place to discuss all the ins and outs of equipment in the Genesis Donut. Warning: Spoilers may be included. Only validated game players will see this forum.
Forum rules
- Use common sense and be respectful towards each other at all times, even when disagreeing.
- Do not reveal sensitive game information. Guild secrets, player seconds are examples of things not allowed.
Alexi
Veteran
Posts: 238
Joined: 17 May 2010 22:30
Location: USA

Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Alexi » 23 Mar 2011 15:32

So I've had this happen to me a few times last week, and thought it might just be a numbers game and being unlucky.

I aquire a good piece of armour (Once was Dragonscale and next time was the blackened greaves) and after one round (IE once was 3 elves in Qual aka 1 room, and the other was 2 rooms of Terel Trolls) the armour breaks. I know it wasn't use before as I had just killed for it.

Is that just bad luck and unlucky %? Can any Wizard weigh in on actual facts on what determines if something has a percentage of breaking without giving away game-breaking details?

User avatar
cotillion
Site Admin
Posts: 314
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 01:14

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by cotillion » 23 Mar 2011 17:57

It's pretty much bad luck.
It's not possible for something to break on the first hit.

Hits happen pretty often though.

User avatar
Strider
Adept
Posts: 134
Joined: 03 Mar 2011 20:15

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Strider » 23 Mar 2011 21:01

Alexi wrote:I know it wasn't use before as I had just killed for it.
I hope this doesn't come off as overly pedantic, but shouldn't the newly deceased have been using any equipment you've just liberated from their service?
The preceding collection of words was presented by Strider's Player.
Any meaning you ascribe to them is most likely due to lucky happenstance or your misinterpretation.

If you'd prefer Strider's opinion, you'll probably have to ask for it in game.

User avatar
Rhaegar
Legend
Posts: 960
Joined: 13 May 2010 06:22

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Rhaegar » 24 Mar 2011 01:55

Not to mention plexus' effect on armours (or was it changed?).
I fear no evil for I am fear incarnate.

Alexi
Veteran
Posts: 238
Joined: 17 May 2010 22:30
Location: USA

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Alexi » 24 Mar 2011 19:39

strider wrote:
Alexi wrote:I know it wasn't use before as I had just killed for it.
I hope this doesn't come off as overly pedantic, but shouldn't the newly deceased have been using any equipment you've just liberated from their service?

Yes he probably did, but if I had a round of combat with them, say 20 hits against Kernan with Plexus (With my Break Armours option turned off) and I get it as prime, and then one other round of combat it breaks, it just seems, ridiculous?

Like Cotollion said "Bad Luck"

Amberlee
Myth
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Mar 2010 19:50
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Amberlee » 27 Mar 2011 14:15

cotillion wrote:It's pretty much bad luck.
It's not possible for something to break on the first hit.

Yes it is.
The views posted by me on this forum is not the views of the character Amberlee in-game.
If you ask for my opinion here, you will get MY opinion, not that of my character.

User avatar
Alorrana
Myth
Posts: 1009
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 11:23
Location: Mordor. passing gass.

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Alorrana » 27 Mar 2011 14:55

should be impossible for anything prime to break..

Just my cents in this.. :)
I’m not a complete idiot. Some pieces are missing.

User avatar
cotillion
Site Admin
Posts: 314
Joined: 04 Mar 2010 01:14

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by cotillion » 27 Mar 2011 15:53

amberlee wrote:
cotillion wrote:It's pretty much bad luck.
It's not possible for something to break on the first hit.
Yes it is.
No.

Johnny
Veteran
Posts: 226
Joined: 02 Apr 2010 09:33
Location: Washington State

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Johnny » 27 Mar 2011 17:08

cotillion wrote: No.
HA! :lol: Brilliant!

Amberlee
Myth
Posts: 1390
Joined: 08 Mar 2010 19:50
Location: Kristiansund, Norway

Re: Just aquired armours breaking after a round of combat

Post by Amberlee » 29 Mar 2011 03:21

cotillion wrote:
amberlee wrote:
cotillion wrote:It's pretty much bad luck.
It's not possible for something to break on the first hit.
Yes it is.
No.
Im not sure you have realized this..
But i have been playing the last 15 years.
You have been idling the last 15 years.

And.. How things are from how they should be is two completely different subjects.

Example one..
Some years ago when i was ranger i went and killed goblin lord.. Got an EH.. wielded it.. went out and on the first hit i scored with it.. it broke.

Example two..
It is quite often that when i see some NPCs respawn that the weapons they wield breaks even before they use them.
You could ofcource claim that this is impossible.

Example three..
Kernan respawned right away after he was killed by me a while back, and i attacked him again.. first swing he breaks the sword he uses..
The views posted by me on this forum is not the views of the character Amberlee in-game.
If you ask for my opinion here, you will get MY opinion, not that of my character.

Post Reply
http://tworzymyatmosfere.pl/przescieradla-jedwabne-z-gumka/