View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 12 Dec 2017 08:22

Forum rules


- Use common sense and be respectful towards each other at all times, even when disagreeing.
- Do not reveal sensitive game information. Guild secrets, player seconds are examples of things not allowed.



Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Magic Map blanking out 
Author Message
Novice

Joined: 20 Nov 2015 07:11
Posts: 2
Location: East
I'm new here, and I didn't know in which category this question fit best, so I'm putting it here.

I've noticed that while I'm exploring areas which have an active magic map available, stepping into some rooms makes the magic map blank out. For example: certain rooms on the main street in Argos, and also certain rooms in the new Terel magic map.

I was wondering if its a glitch, or if it is caused by some interface I'm using on my end (I play it on my browser), or if it is by design. Because it doesn't make sense for it to be by design, as I can see the entire map laid out in front of me anyway if I move a few steps this way or that.


06 Dec 2015 20:25
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2010 04:36
Posts: 2520
Amastacia wrote:
I'm new here, and I didn't know in which category this question fit best, so I'm putting it here.

I've noticed that while I'm exploring areas which have an active magic map available, stepping into some rooms makes the magic map blank out. For example: certain rooms on the main street in Argos, and also certain rooms in the new Terel magic map.

I was wondering if its a glitch, or if it is caused by some interface I'm using on my end (I play it on my browser), or if it is by design. Because it doesn't make sense for it to be by design, as I can see the entire map laid out in front of me anyway if I move a few steps this way or that.


The entire world is not magic mapped. It's an ongoing process.

For Terel, Britanica is currently working on mapping it, so until next armageddon (and possibly awhile after) there will be some blank areas until everything is complete.

When it comes to Argos, if it's just a room in the middle of the street that's blank, and the rooms next to it is not, it might be some type of bug. Please "mail aop" with and try to explain where exactly it happens. You can also type "bug" in the room, which creates a bugreport. (But please mail aop too if you do).


07 Dec 2015 03:20
Profile
Wizard
User avatar

Joined: 22 Sep 2014 13:15
Posts: 293
I checked out the new maps in Terel... beautiful Britanica, well done :)

On topic - sometimes the magic map has 'blanks' due to duplicate room file names, with one of the rooms ending up dropping off the map. I know there are a few locations like that outside of Sparkle, and are particularly prevalent in regions with 'docks', like Palanthas and Newports. As far as I know the way to fix that is to make a new room with a different file name and reconnect it to ajoining rooms... which is a bit of a pain.

So that may be the reason for the occasional gaps in the map Amastacia.


07 Dec 2015 08:38
Profile
Arman wrote:
I checked out the new maps in Terel... beautiful Britanica, well done :)

On topic - sometimes the magic map has 'blanks' due to duplicate room file names, with one of the rooms ending up dropping off the map. I know there are a few locations like that outside of Sparkle, and are particularly prevalent in regions with 'docks', like Palanthas and Newports. As far as I know the way to fix that is to make a new room with a different file name and reconnect it to ajoining rooms... which is a bit of a pain.

So that may be the reason for the occasional gaps in the map Amastacia.


And then you have the bug outside newports that makes you jump several rooms in the map.


07 Dec 2015 11:05
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2010 04:36
Posts: 2520
Arcon wrote:
Arman wrote:
I checked out the new maps in Terel... beautiful Britanica, well done :)

On topic - sometimes the magic map has 'blanks' due to duplicate room file names, with one of the rooms ending up dropping off the map. I know there are a few locations like that outside of Sparkle, and are particularly prevalent in regions with 'docks', like Palanthas and Newports. As far as I know the way to fix that is to make a new room with a different file name and reconnect it to ajoining rooms... which is a bit of a pain.

So that may be the reason for the occasional gaps in the map Amastacia.


And then you have the bug outside newports that makes you jump several rooms in the map.


Arcon: Uhm? What? Where?

Arman: Where in Sparkle? Renaming duplicate filenames should be doable unless there's a lot of them or there's some complex room system. Renaming dock-files might mess up ships though I suppose, so that probably needs to be done with care.


07 Dec 2015 15:25
Profile
Cherek wrote:
Arcon wrote:
Arman wrote:
I checked out the new maps in Terel... beautiful Britanica, well done :)

On topic - sometimes the magic map has 'blanks' due to duplicate room file names, with one of the rooms ending up dropping off the map. I know there are a few locations like that outside of Sparkle, and are particularly prevalent in regions with 'docks', like Palanthas and Newports. As far as I know the way to fix that is to make a new room with a different file name and reconnect it to ajoining rooms... which is a bit of a pain.

So that may be the reason for the occasional gaps in the map Amastacia.


And then you have the bug outside newports that makes you jump several rooms in the map.


Arcon: Uhm? What? Where?

Arman: Where in Sparkle? Renaming duplicate filenames should be doable unless there's a lot of them or there's some complex room system. Renaming dock-files might mess up ships though I suppose, so that probably needs to be done with care.


Walk from newports south towards Pax looking at the map.


07 Dec 2015 17:10
Rising Hero
User avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 2015 03:28
Posts: 366
Location: Vingaard Keep
I've found NewPorts to be one of the worst offenders. For some reasons it fixes itself for a while after Arma.

_________________
They denied that wealth could be printed, they denied that lunches were free;
They denied that Wishes were Horses; they denied that a Pig had Wings;
So we worshipped the Gods of of the Market Who promised these beautiful things.


07 Dec 2015 17:42
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2010 04:36
Posts: 2520
Arcon: Ok, there two parts of the road the shows the pier map instead of the actual map. Ody/Arcon: Are there more places than that?

Ody: The reason it fixes itself after Armageddon might be because the room duplicate name thing doesnt become an issue until someone enter the duplicate room to load it... I think.

Arman: Like you said it's because the room names are the same. Another solution instead of renaming rooms would simply be to split the map into more files. For example make the Pax road map its own file. I could fix that, if you want? You are the one who made the maps right?:)


07 Dec 2015 18:36
Profile
Rising Hero
User avatar

Joined: 18 Apr 2015 03:28
Posts: 366
Location: Vingaard Keep
Cherek: The Merchant quarter in Palanthas sometimes doesn't work. I haven't seen it not work since the Dwarf caves were added though. The four rooms east of the giants (the ones in a square formation) don't work. There aren't any others that I can think of though.

_________________
They denied that wealth could be printed, they denied that lunches were free;
They denied that Wishes were Horses; they denied that a Pig had Wings;
So we worshipped the Gods of of the Market Who promised these beautiful things.


07 Dec 2015 19:13
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: 04 Mar 2010 04:36
Posts: 2520
Ody: Giants? In Spakle?


07 Dec 2015 20:23
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Designed by ST Software.